News Analysis

Record cat bond issuance assessed


Print this story SCI RSS Feed

Friday 21 April 2017 12:34 London/ 07.34 New York/ 20.34 Tokyo

Category: Insurance-linked securities ABS

The average size of catastrophe bonds climbed significantly - by 31% - to US$292m in 1Q17, according to PCS figures. The firm notes that the issuance of the Galilei Re, Aozora Re and Sanders Re transactions had "disproportionate effects" on volumes (see SCI's primary issuance database).

"Half the transactions [issued in Q1] were small (under US$200m) and it ...  showing 60 out of 245 words of this article

Record+cat+bond+issuance+assessed

%3CBODY%3E%3Cp+align%3D%22justify%22%3EThe+average+size+of+catastrophe+bonds+climbed+significantly+%2D+by+31%25+%2D+to+US%24292m+in+1Q17%2C+according+to+PCS+figures%2E+The+firm+notes+that+the+issuance+of+the+Galilei+Re%2C+Aozora+Re+and+Sanders+Re+transactions+had+%22disproportionate+effects%22+on+volumes+%28see+SCI%27s+primary+issuance+%3Ca+href%3D%22%2Fdatabase%2FABS%5FCDO%2F%22+target%3D%22%5Fblank%22%3Edatabase%3C%2Fa%3E%29%2E%3C%2Fp%3E%0D%0A%09%3Cp+align%3D%22justify%22%3E%22Half+the+transactions+%5Bissued+in+Q1%5D+were+small+%28under+US%24200m%29+and+it+took+two+large+transactions+of+around+US%24500m+to+lift+aggregate+limit+to+the+year%27s+record%2Dsetting+issuance+of++%2E%2E%2E%2E%2E%2E



PLEASE LOG-IN TO ACCESS THIS CONTENT:

 

Yes, I am registered
No, I am not registered but would like to apply for a free trial

Record cat bond issuance assessed