Madden uncertainty to continue


Print this story SCI RSS Feed

Tuesday 28 June 2016 11:25 London/ 06.25 New York/ 19.25 Tokyo

Category: ABS

The US Supreme Court has denied certiorari in the Madden vs Midland Funding case, electing not to review a Second Circuit decision that found state usury laws applied to debt that had been purchased from a national bank (SCI passim). The decision is expected to prolong the legal uncertainty related to the marketplace lending and securitisation industries.

Other circuits are ...  showing 60 out of 285 words of this article

Madden+uncertainty+to+continue

%3CBODY%3E%3Cp+align%3D%22justify%22%3EThe+US+Supreme+Court+has+denied+certiorari+in+the+Madden+vs+Midland+Funding+case%2C+electing+not+to+review+a+Second+Circuit+decision+that+found+state+usury+laws+applied+to+debt+that+had+been+purchased+from+a+national+bank+%28SCI+passim%29%2E+The+decision+is+expected+to+prolong+the+legal+uncertainty+related+to+the+marketplace+lending+and+securitisation+industries%2E%3C%2Fp%3E%0D%0A%09%3Cp+align%3D%22justify%22%3EOther+circuits+are+not+anticipated+to+adopt+the+reasoning+of+the+Second+Circuit+%2D+in+part+due+to+the+arguments+made+by+the+Solicitor+General+%2D+but+the+appellate+decision+st+%2E%2E%2E%2E%2E%2E



PLEASE LOG-IN TO ACCESS THIS CONTENT:

 

Yes, I am registered
No, I am not registered but would like to apply for a free trial

Madden uncertainty to continue