Heavy burden


Print this story SCI RSS Feed

Wednesday 25 January 2017 10:32 London/ 05.32 New York/ 18.32 Tokyo

Category: ABS

Average US student debt levels have now swelled to a record US$30,000 plus, sparking concern that the US economy could be negatively affected by constrained home ownership and long-term consumption growth. At the same time, high-profile legal cases relating to the difficulty of debtors to discharge their debt through bankruptcy and the recent CFPB versus Navient case suggest that student ...  showing 60 out of 703 words of this article

Heavy+burden

Student+loan+servicing+under+the+spotlight

%3CBODY%3E%3Cp+align%3D%22justify%22%3EAverage+US+student+debt+levels+have+now+swelled+to+a+record+US%2430%2C000+plus%2C+sparking+concern+that+the+US+economy+could+be+negatively+affected+by+constrained+home+ownership+and+long%2Dterm+consumption+growth%2E+At+the+same+time%2C+high%2Dprofile+legal+cases+relating+to+the+difficulty+of+debtors+to+discharge+their+debt+through+bankruptcy+and+the+recent+CFPB+versus+Navient+case+suggest+that+student+debt+could+be+pushed+further+under+the+spotlight%2E%3C%2Fp%3E%0D%0A%09%3Cp+align%3D%22justify%22%3EJoe+Cioffi%2C+partner+at+Davis+%26amp%3B+Gilbert%2C+says+that+while+the+discharging+of+debt+t+%2E%2E%2E%2E%2E%2E



PLEASE LOG-IN TO ACCESS THIS CONTENT:

 

Yes, I am registered
No, I am not registered but would like to apply for a free trial

Heavy burden



Student loan servicing under the spotlight